From Loner To Leader











{July 5, 2011}   Fighting For My Life Part I

As a woman of faith I have to tell you that the past two weeks of my life have been trying and awesome all at once. My car was not in the perfect condition and I had owned it for several years. However, with proper maintenance and upkeep it would be fine. On my way home from Reno with my two brothers Jeremy and Rodrick and my sister Essence the car decides to breakdown just as we got off the mountain near Auburn. None of us panicked we just pulled over on the freeway and my brothers got out to check the under the hood. They wasn’t sure what the problem was and the car sounded like it wanted to start. After about fifteen minutes the highway patrol pulled up and assisted us off the freeway. Another My brothers pushed the car into the nearby gas station and a young man in a truck tried to jump the car. It didn’t start so we begin to think of what to do. It was after 8pm and getting dark. We ended up calling a tow truck company who came from Elk Grove to take the car to Sacramento where my grandmother lived. Unsure of how we were getting to Sacramento ourselves, my godfather in Reno got on the phone and in touch with my uncle Jim. He came all the way from Sacramento to pick us up and take us to my grandmothers while we awaited the news of my car. Mind you I still had to drop my brother off in Manteca, and my sister off in Fresno and I myself had to get back to school in Irvine. This expense became great and the money I had set aside for living expenses at the hotel began to dwindle down. For the first time since I got my license and car I had become carless. The tow truck was working hard to diagnose my car and one day became five days. We were stuck in Sacramento a whole week. We kept in contact with our parents and my godparents trying to find solutions to this problem. Money was running out and at this point I missed a whole week of school. My teachers were understanding but I still didn’t feel right about missing school. At least I spent my birthday with my two siblings instead of alone. We finally got the news about the car, it needed an engine and I nor my family could afford that. I needed to rent a car which I couldn’t do on my own so my uncle Jim helped us. Finally, I got home and packed my belongings and said goodbye to my hotel studio that had housed me for eight weeks of the semester. I checked into another hotel for two days before having to return the car back to Sacramento. I didn’t really have a plan. My lovely teacher Dr. Jago assisted me with the decision to try and stay for the remainder of the term and a possible leave of absence for Fall term and Spring term. #fromlonertoleader



Leave a comment

et cetera